Public Reception to celebrate Sawnie Morris, The Inaugural Taos Poet Laureate

Loading Map....

Thursday, Feb 15th - 2018

5:00 pm-6:00 pm - FREE



With funding from the Witter Bynner Foundation and approval from the Town of Taos SOMOS selected four judges: Deborah Rael-Buckley, Joshua Concha, Kathleen Knoth, and Nathaniel Evans to review applications for the inaugural Taos Poet Laureate this past December. The judges selected local and nationally known poet, Sawnie Morris.

SOMOS celebrates the position of Poet Laureate, its importance to the town of Taos as a literary center in New Mexico and beyond. We also applaud Sawnie’s accomplishments as a teacher, editor, community activist, and poet and her role as the inaugural Poet Laureate of Taos. A reception with wine and cheese, accompanied by a reading by Sawnie.  All are invited!

Comments are closed.